top of page

Lobyn Hamilton - Vinyl Records Artist


‘I believe I am still DJing. I believe I am still scratching records, sampling, cutting records, mixing records. My work is the analog manifestation of what I would do as a DJ. Also the recycling aspect of using all of the discarded records. For the thousands of records I have used over my career span, most of them have been unsold, forgotten, and of unknown music and artists. For me, the work is giving new life to the work that others may not have even known. Picking up the pieces of shattered dreams to create something truly memorable and unique. Not to mention the deep respect I have for vinyl and music in general. Being able to recreate and use the album art, the record label and even the vinyl is something that I love doing. A while ago I went through some turbulent time in my life. One day I injured my leg , went down to my basement and out of frustration began to break up my DJ records. I left the whole mess for couple of months until that day when I came down and began to do my vinyl art work. For me I was literally picking up the pieces of my life. So from that point on it was using what I had and making sure that I kept moving forward. When people see the work I want them to experience something that they have seen something worth remembering. Something that makes them stop and make their eyes light up. I want them to see something they haven't seen before.’ - Lobyn Hamilton

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
filter by category

related posts

bottom of page