top of page

I'm a dancehall queen. Ula "Afro" Fryc.


Photography by Michal Kownacki (www.michalkownacki.com)

Full spread in issue 3

ULA 'AFRO' FRYC (Poland)

How did you start your life journey with dance? When did you discover that dancehall is the type of dance you want to focus on?

My adventure with Dancehall as a dance, or rather as the whole Dancehall culture, started about nine years ago in 2005. It has been a long journey before this discovery. I started dancing at the age of four. My mother took me to my first dance class and I will be grateful to her for the rest of my life! After trying out many different dance styles, I accidentally came across Dancehall music when I saw an online video of girls dancing to it I fell in love instantly and couldn’t sit whenever I heard this music, so I knew ‘this was it!’

Currently you are a professional dance teacher. What about the beginning? How did you manage to find people who are interested in learning Dancehall?

When it comes to the very beginning, it wasn’t easy. Not to say that people didn’t want to come to my classes but Dancehall wasn’t popular in Poland yet. On top of this, right after I finished high school I moved to a different city where I had to find my way around and get a location where I could teach. But month after month, it was getting better and the dance room started filling with people. Nowadays it is much easier. People know me, they recognize my effort in promoting and supporting Dancehall in my country and around the world. Also this style is much more popular in Poland now. I am very happy to have a full room of people during my training sessions so I can share my knowledge and skills with them. I have been working hard to be where I am right now and people’s satisfaction after my classes is the highest reward for me!

Do you teach all the typical Dancehall moves, including head top or wine?

It depends on the training session. I also wouldn’t agree with the saying ‘all the typical moves’ , as head top and wine are just a few elements of Dancehall Queen Style, which is only reserved for women. Of course men in this dance style wouldn’t use these moves as it is not considered to be appropriate. In the beginning in Europe, when Dancehall started to appear on dance scene, this particular Dancehall Queen Style was promoted, therefore, most of the people thought Dancehall was only about butt shaking and wining. Since then a lot has changed and I believe that now everyone knows that it is a dance style initiated by a man, a very talented dancer, the father of Dancehall – Bogle.

I divided my training sessions to allow everybody to find something for themselves. I do typical training for women where we learn more feminine moves, we do acrobatics, stretching and hips moving techniques. But there are also classes where both sexes are welcome where I teach the dance moves, history and the origin of Dancehall. I also have an exclusive group of advanced dancers who under my supervision deepen this beautiful and great culture of Dancehall.

Dancehall music is known for its’ explicit and controversial lyrics. Do you think that Polish fans of this music and dance understand these lyrics? Do they understand the meaning of the songs?

I totally agree with the fact that the lyrics of Jamaican Dancehall are much different than Dancehall which is sang by Polish artists. I do think though, that it depends on the person. Some people, who are deep into the Jamaican culture, know the lyrics and understand it perfectly. There are also some who have no clue what the song is about and the Jamaican dialect is like black magic to them but they like the melody and the positive impact it has on them.

Do you happen to come across some negative feedback about your dance style from outsiders who are not familiar with dancehall culture?

Perhaps I am very lucky or it simply is this way, there are no negative reactions. I always feel welcome, people like what I do and they are interested in talking to me and knowing more about the culture. There could have been some small unpleasant episodes, but I think we all have experienced some drunken behaviors.

It seems Poland would be the last place to be associated with Reggae and Dancehall music. How would you describe the Polish Dancehall scene?

I wouldn’t agree that Poland is the last place to associate with Reggae and Dancehall. Nowadays we throw many great Reggae festivals known around the world. There are more and more dancers who go to Jamaica to promote our country and prove that Polish people can dance and be successful in it! On the other hand, Jamaican dancers come to Poland and do regular workshops. There are many documentaries and articles about the Polish Reggae/Dancehall scene. In my opinion, we are well placed in the world. I can’t help but mention that Polish sound systems like Dancehall Masak-Rah, Splendid Sound, Sensithief, travel the world to play at the events and win sound system clashes!

You seem to be a frequent visitor to Jamaica. Where do you go out while you are there? What is it that you like most about Jamaican culture?

This year was my sixth time to Jamaica. Even though I have been there so many times, I discover new places and learn more every time. Every day there are parties in Jamaica, more so, there are few on the same night so it would be hard for me to mention them all. I try to be there during the summer when the Dancehall Queen World championship is held, which I take part in. I recommend this event to anyone who is visiting Jamaica between July and August – wonderful performances, the best Dancehall dancers in the world and such incredible energy! Of course a trip to the mountains to visit the wild part of Jamaica is a must – I’m a bit of a ‘bushman’ and nature pulls me in. I like so many things about the Jamaican culture but if I had to pick three it would be: the music and dance, the positive life attitude and incredible vibes created by the people and the places and events.

MINI Q&A

Favorite Dancehall artist oh no….! I can’t pick just one!

Favorite Dancehall Queen Style move Headtop

Gaza or Gully I ‘m against separation

Ackee and saltfish or jerk chicken Definitely Jerk chicken but from the Jerk Man on the street

Highest ambition It is my biggest dream at the same time, so I won’t reveal

Biggest authority and why My parents! The support and love they give me will always be my inspiration

Dream car Volkswagen Transporter...for real!

The biggest turn on I like a manly man, with purpose and passion in life – such as my boyfriend!

The biggest turn off Wussy men and show off guys

Your secret talent I play violin

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
filter by category

related posts

bottom of page